Understanding Accreditation

Educational accreditation is a process of external quality review created and used by higher education to scrutinize colleges, universities, and programs for quality assurance and quality improvement. Accreditation in the United States is more than 100 years old, emerging from concerns to protect public health and safety and to serve the public interest.

In the United States, accreditation is carried out by private, nonprofit organizations designed for this specific purpose. External quality review of higher education is a nongovernmental enterprise.

There are two types of educational accreditation: institutional and specialized.

Regional (Institutional) Accreditation

Institutional accreditation is provided by regional and national associations of schools and colleges. There are six regional associations, (Middle States Commission, New England Association, Higher Learning Commission, Southern Association, Western Association for Community and Junior Colleges, Western Association for Senior Colleges and Universities). The regional associations are independent of one another, but they cooperate extensively and acknowledge one another’s accreditation. Several national associations focus on particular kinds of institutions (for example, trade and technical colleges, or religious colleges and universities). An institutional accrediting agency evaluates an entire educational organization in terms of its mission and the agency’s standards or criteria. As an institution, Illinois Central College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (hlcommission.org) through 2030.

Specialized (Programmatic) Accreditation and State Regulatory Agencies

Complaint Process

Illinois Central College seeks to resolve all student concerns in a timely and effective manner. To that end, this complaint process serves as an ongoing means for students to discuss concerns or register formal complaints that pertain to alleged violations of State consumer protection laws that include but are not limited to fraud and false advertising; alleged violations of State laws or rules relating to the licensure of postsecondary institutions; and complaints relating to the quality of education or other State or accreditation requirements.

Students, or consumers, who have a complaint they are trying to resolve with a specific community college are encouraged to try to resolve their issue through their institution’s formal grievance procedures.

If the issue is not resolved through this process, students or consumers may file a formal complaint with the program’s third-party accrediting Each agency has unique policies for accreditation and contacting the appropriate third-party agency for its policy and procedures is recommended.

ICC programs have sought and received specialized (program) accreditation/approval. These include the following.

icc program name

accrediting agency

accreditations status

and contact

Automotive Technology

Automotive Service Excellence Educational Foundation (ASEEF)

1503 Edwards Ferry Rd., N.E. Suite 401

Leesburg, VA 20176

Phone: (703) 669-6650; (703) 669-6677




Program Coordinator:

Todd Fortier

Caterpillar Dealer Service Technology (CATTK)

Associated Equipment Distributors (AED)

650 E. Algonquin Rd. Suite 305

Schaumburg, IL  60173

Phone: (630) 574-0650


2024 - Date to be Determined


Program Director:

Mark Matthews

Culinary Arts Management

American Culinary Federation Educational Foundation (ACFEF)   

American Culinary Federation

6816 Southpoint Pkwy Suite 400

Jacksonville, FL 32216

Phone: (904) 824-4468

Fax: (904) 940-0741




Program Director:

Charles Robertson

Diesel Powered

Equipment Technology

Associated Equipment Distributors (AED) Foundation: Certified Technician Program

650 E. Algonquin Rd. Suite 305

Schaumburg, IL  60173

Phone: (630) 574-0650



Fall 2024


Program Director:

Colin Campbell

Dental Hygienist

Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA)

211 E. Chicago Ave. Suite 1900

Chicago, IL  60611

Phone: (312) 440-4653


October 2028


Program Director:

Nicole Breidel 

Drug and Alcohol Counseling Trainings (DACT)

Illinois Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Professional Certification Association, Inc.  (IAODAPCA)

401 E. Sangamon Avenue

Springfield, IL  62702

Phone: (217) 698-8110


Fall 2025


Program Director:

Dan Kelts

Emergency Medical

Technician &  Paramedic


Commission on Accreditation of Educational Programs for the Emergency Medical Service Professions)

8301 Lakeview Parkway, Suite 111-312

Rowlett, Texas 75088

Phone: (214) 703-8445

Fax: (214) 703-8992

Spring 2025


Program Director:

Michael Dant


General Motor Automotive Service Education Program (GM-ASEP)

Automotive Service Excellence (ASE)

Phone: (800) 390-6789



Program Director:

Trevor Imm

Horticulture Programs


National Association of Landscape Professionals (NALP)

12500 Fair Lakes Circle, Suite 200

Fairfax, VA 22033

Phone: (703) 736-9666; (800) 395-2522

Fax: (703)-322-2066




Program Director:

Kelly Cochran Cohlman

Licensed Practical Nursing

Accrediting Commission for Education in Nursing
3390 Peachtree Road NE, Suite 1400
Atlanta, Georgia 30326

Phone: (404) 975-5000

Spring 2028


Associate Dean:

Mischelle Monagle

Medical Assistant


Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs

25400 U.S. Highway 19 North, Suite 158

Clearwater, FL 33763
Phone: (727) 210-2350
Fax: (727) 210-2354



Fall 2028


Program Director:

Cydney Bretsch

Medical Laboratory


National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences
5600 N River Rd., Suite 720

Rosemont, IL  60018
Phone: (773) 714-8880
Fax: (773) 714-8886

Year Five Interim Report:

October 1, 2024,

Self-study: October 1, 2029

Site visit: October 31, 2030


Program Director:

Vincent Strow

Music (Associate in Arts)

National Association of Schools of Music (NASM)

National Association of Schools of Music

11250 Roger Bacon Drive, Suite 21

Reston, VA 20190-5248

Phone: (703) 437-0700

Fax: (703) 437-6312





Program Director:

Julie Clemens

Occupational Therapy


Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education
c/o AOTA Accreditation Department
4720 Montgomery Lane, Suite 200
Bethesda, MD  20814
Phone: (301) 652-2682


June 2027/2028

(Received June 2018 for 10 years)


Program Director:

Jennifer Haines


Physical Therapist Assistant


Commission for Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education

1111 North Fairfax Street

Alexandria, Virginia 22314

Phone: (800) 999-2782, ext. 3245 or (703) 706-3245


Spring 2026


Program Director:

Julie Feeny




Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology
20 Wacker Drive Suite 2850
Chicago, IL  60606-3182
Phone: (312) 704-5300
Fax: (312) 704-5304

Fall 2025


Program Director:

April Tatham


Registered Nurse

Accrediting Commission for Education in Nursing
3390 Peachtree Road NE, Suite 1400
Atlanta, Georgia 30326

Phone: (404) 975-5000

Spring 2028


 Associate Dean:

Mischelle Monagle


Respiratory Therapist

Commission on Accreditation for Respiratory Care

1248 Harwood Road
Bedford, TX  76021

Phone: (817) 283-2835
Fax: (817) 354-8519


Spring 2026  


Program Director:

Mary Beth Cregger


Surgical Technologist


Accreditation Review Council on Education in Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting

Official (CAAHEP)
Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs Committee of Accreditation (CoA)

25400 U.S. Highway 19 North, Suite 158

Clearwater, FL 33763
Phone: (727) 210-2350
Fax: (727) 210-2354




Program Director:

Sonja Conton